top of page

Understanding the 12 Laws of Karma and How They Shape Your Life

Updated: Jan 13

Karma is the concept of receiving what you give, whether it's positive or negative energy, and it affects your future based on your present actions in Hinduism and Buddhism. The 12 laws of karma govern this concept, influencing your life's quality and your future existence.

Regardless of your belief system, grasping the essence of karma can guide you in living a more aligned and fulfilling life. By understanding the karma you carry in this lifetime, you can work towards resolving it and shaping your own destiny. The 12 laws of karma offer a framework for generating good karma, potentially leading to positive outcomes. Here, we explore karma's meaning, its laws, and how aligning with them can transform your life.

Is Karma Real?

While the existence of karma can't be scientifically proven, many believe in its mystical influence on our lives. According to spiritual mentor Alyse Bacine, karma's workings are beyond human comprehension, and there is an unexplained energy in the universe that affects us.

Karma in Action

Karma can explain seemingly inexplicable events, such as unfortunate occurrences befalling good people. Karma suggests that these situations result from past-life actions, which can be explored through astrology and karmic placements in your birth chart. While you can't change past actions, you can adjust your behavior in this life to align with the 12 laws of karma and address karmic lessons.


Karma's Far-Reaching Impact

Karma is not limited to affecting your current life; it extends to future versions of yourself, your children, and generations to come. Spiritual medium Gaia Chinniah describes karma as a tapestry woven by your soul, influenced by every thought, action, word, and gesture. Understanding and aligning with the 12 laws of karma can help you lead a more meaningful and harmonious life.

Types of Karma

In Hindu scriptures, three types of karma are defined: Sanchita karma (accumulated karma from past lives), Prarabdha karma (portion of Sanchita karma experienced in the present), and Agami karma (karma generated by present actions, affecting future lifetimes). Good karma results from positive contributions to the world, while bad karma stems from negative actions and contributions.

The 12 Laws of Karma

  1. The Law of Cause and Effect: Your thoughts and energy create the outcomes you experience.

  2. The Law of Creation: Actively create the life you desire through your actions and choices.

  3. The Law of Humility: Accept the current state of things to initiate change.

  4. The Law of Growth: Internal growth leads to external changes.

  5. The Law of Responsibility: Take ownership of your life and actions.

  6. The Law of Connection: Everything and everyone is interconnected.

  7. The Law of Force: Focus on one task at a time for better results.

  8. The Law of Giving and Hospitality: Match good intentions with meaningful actions.

  9. The Law of Here and Now: Be present in the moment to enjoy life fully.

  10. The Law of Change: Repetitive patterns signal a need for change.

  11. The Law of Patience and Reward: Consistent hard work eventually yields success.

  12. The Law of Significance and Inspiration: Everyone has unique value to offer the world.

Read more Self Improvement

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page